Top 7 Books To Read If You Liked Squid Game

No spoilers, utterly engaging books only.

Timer10 min

Let’s be honest — it’s getting harder each day to find someone who at least hasn’t heard of the Squid Game. As the biggest Netflix sensation, this TV series has invaded every corner of the Internet, converting more people into its fans. And after binging the show, we are all unanimously wondering what to do next? 

According to the most optimistic predictions, we will not be able to binge the second season any time soon. No getting sad, though — the Headway team knows just what you need. In this article, we will explore seven must-read books for the Squid Game viewers. Intricate psychology of money and games, a break-down of capitalism, human freedom, viral content… We covered everything! What’s even better, you can binge the summaries of these titles on the Headway app and learn all their key ideas in just 15 minutes. And ain’t that a treat with the busy lives we lead?

And now, let’s satiate your Squid Game hunger with not less captivating literature!

1. The Psychology of Money: Timeless Lessons on Wealth, Greed, and Happiness by Morgan Housel

At the beginning of the series, we discover the implications of crippling debt and its detrimental effect on all life spheres. And that usually it is caused by an unfortunate consequence of poor money decisions that everyone makes at some point. How to avoid going broke, then? Undoubtedly, financial literacy is key, but it is not always evident how to reach it. Well, that’s where Morgan Housel can be of help.

In The Psychology of Money, the author provides 19 typical cases of bad money management and contrasts them with actionable tips on how to make proper financial decisions. This title has been called ‘one of the best and most original finance books in years’ by the Wall Street Journal, and there’s no arguing about that. Practical, easy-to-digest, and simply a must for anyone wanting to get a grip of basic finance.

2. Reality Is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change The World by Jane McGonigal

Would you like to play a game? Especially if the end goal was changing the world for the better? After watching the sensational dorama, you may be wary of games altogether, but it is undeniable that they are an inherent part of the modern world. What is less evident is that gamification may be a powerful force in solving social issues. How so? Let’s hear what Jane McGonigal has to say on this matter.

As a visionary game designer, Jane is a huge believer in the societal power of gaming. In Reality Is Broken, she explores the infinite possibilities of this pastime that exceed the classic escapist entertainment. Jane’s approach might seem overly ambitious to some, but hasn’t it been so for all prominent ideas? Reality Is Broken is definitely worth reading if you want to discover why the future is behind the gamers.

3. When More Is Not Better (Overcoming America’s Obsession with Economic Efficiency) by Rodger L. Martin

Yet another topic brought up by the Squid Game is capitalism and its destructive repercussions. And in our globalized world, this issue touches all of us, directly or indirectly. Hence, it is essential to make sense of what is happening economy-wise. And books are one sure way to do so!

When More Is Not Better will give you an understanding of where democratic capitalism has gone wrong, and more importantly, what needs to be done about it. As one of the best strategy professors in the world, Rodger L. Martin particularly scrutinizes the case of the United States, stressing its insatiable and ruinous need for economic efficiency. However complicated this sounds, When More Is Not Better manages to break down everything in simple terms with engaging anecdotes and insights.

4. 1984 by George Orwell

It is only fair to read the ultimate dystopian novel after finishing the show of the same genre. And there is no better option for that than 1984 by George Orwell. 

Seventy years after being published, 1984 is still one of the most blood-curdling fiction titles ever. It may seem that the totalitarian future described by George Orwell is an exaggeration we don’t have to worry about. Nevertheless, it targets many prevailing issues of modernity — constant surveillance, damaging bureaucracy, restricted free speech, etc. So by showing the extremes to which government can go to control its citizens, George Orwell gives a lot to think about in terms of today’s policies. 

However hard it is to stop talking about 1984, we can’t give the plot away. That is for you to find out yourself. Just get ready for it to grip you from the very beginning and not let go till the end.

5. Escape From Freedom by Erich Fromm

With every episode of the Squid Game, we become more and more sure of the high value of human freedom. But do we genuinely want it, or just think we do? Freedom comes at its cost with certain hardships, alienation from others, and responsibilities. And, those unable to cope with that become susceptible to authoritarian and fascist regimes. Wondering now how one can prefer submission to independence? Then Erich Fromm’s Escape From Freedom is the book for you. 

Erich Fromm, a psychoanalyst, challenges the notion of freedom in his work, putting to trial many misconceptions about it. And by exploring the concept of being free throughout history, Fromm also demonstrates how we changed as humanity and why totalitarian regimes succeed. By and large, Escape From Freedom is an outstanding work on society and psychology that should go on your reading list straightaway.

6. Games People Play by Eric Berne

Squid or not, we play various games all the time — social, romantic, in business, etc. And according to the psychiatrist Eric Berne, all these interactions are patterned and predictable. Therefore, in his psychological bestseller Games People Play, he further explores this topic, providing numerous examples and explaining the basics of human behavior.

Games People Play has been an evergreen hit in the psychology book section for more than 50 years. And while some of it may seem outdated, overall, it stays one of the most revolutionizing titles about the human mind and relations. So that’s a definite green light to read it!

7. Contagious: Why Things Catch On by Jonah Berger

Lastly, one thing on everyone’s mind regarding the Squid Game — why has it become so popular? How did it get so viral to have the whole world talking about it? The show has attracted more than 111 million viewers, and the hashtag #SquidGame on TikTok has been viewed more than 22.8 billion times. All these numbers are mind-boggling and make you wonder about what caused them. Don’t worry, though; the New York Times bestseller Contagious can clear things up! It has been proclaimed one of the best marketing books for a reason. And if a title about laws of creating catchy things, well, caught on, the author must know what he’s talking about.

In Contagious, Jonah Berger mainly targets the word-of-mouth phenomenon from the scientific point of view. He boils it down to six actionable techniques to make your message or idea socially transmissible and successfully spread information. Additionally, the author illustrates everything with exceptional marketing cases and, of course, research. The bottom line is that Contagious is not just yet another book for marketers. It is a remarkable study of human behavior and interaction that will be enlightening for anyone.

And now that you have a steady book plan, remember that you can save some precious time by reading summaries of these titles on the Headway app.  

What is a summary anyways?

Have you ever wished that you could read an entire book in 15 minutes or less without missing all the crucial information? After all, there are dozens of worthy titles in the world. However, even if you dedicated every single minute of your life to reading, that wouldn’t be enough to dig into all the books. That’s when summaries come to help.

A summary is a unique piece of content written based on a book. The goal is to filter all extra sentences and pages and keep only those pieces and thoughts that are really useful. Headway has an entire summary production team with writers, editors, and proofreaders that creates magic in the form of 5 chapters.

But don’t be afraid. It’s not just a dry text that is boring to read. Most impactful insights and quotes are highlighted in the most remarkable way. There is no chance that you will miss any of them!

Authenticity and uniqueness

At Headway, every piece of content is original. The team picks the most outstanding books, and our talented writers turn them into 15-minute reads. No critical information is excluded from summaries! Only the best insights and minimum time to read them. What’s more? Our groundbreaking illustrator creates all book covers! Take a minute to look into all the metaphors inside the book jackets. It’s worth it! 

One more outstanding feature of Headway is the customization of recommendations. After you fill the quiz, you get access to your account that processes all the information. Based on it, you get your very own book recommendations in the Today for you section.

On top of that, there are editor-picked collections. We know that it can be a little overwhelming to see so many books and decide where to start. That’s why collections are great helpers. Dive into multiple topics like productivity, self-growth, happiness, and many others. This is a great way to begin your journey with Headway!

Read & listen anywhere

Not only is there a massive collection of nonfiction book summaries, but there are also audio versions to every 15-min read! Whether you have a break at work or you don’t want to waste your time on the road, it is a perfect option to learn and evolve any second given.

What’s more? With Headway, you don’t always need to have an Internet connection. You can download any summary or audio and read or listen to it at any moment. That’s what we call limitless access to knowledge.

Challenge accepted!

Do you struggle with sticking to consistency? Worry no more! We’ve created unique reading challenges for different goals. Choose what you want to achieve and follow the challenge to see amazing results in 28 days or less. But what’s the fun without a little competition? Dare your friends to accept the challenge with you, see who will earn all achievements quicker, and don’t forget to discuss the insights you enjoyed the most together!

To personalize your reading experience, set up your goal:

Dive into the best insights

Not only are our writers the magicians of turning a book into 15-minute summaries, but they are also pros at highlighting key ideas and turning them into insights! There is no chance you miss them as we’ve created the most comfortable navigation through summaries so that you never miss important thoughts and words from the author. 

But that’s not all! Every day you get the portion of the most relatable Daily Insights inside the app. We know how important it is sometimes to share what inspires you with others. And it is possible with Headway! You can share Daily Insights to your Instagram stories and give others a glimpse of your source of motivation.

Memorize it!

One of the features that we are most proud of is Spaced Repetition. It is a proven learning technique that is based on flashcards and aims to help with memorizing. How does it work? It’s simple! While reading a summary, you just need to select a word or an insight you’d like to memorize, and voilà — it turns into the flashcard in the Spaced Repetition section. Once you’ve learned certain information, the flashcard will be saved in your history. Don’t forget to check and revise it. This feature is also perfect for readers who speak English as a second language. You can add the dictionaries you need to your flashcards and improve your vocabulary.

Celebrate your progress

In the Me section, you will find your reading achievements. Check out how well you are doing compared to other Headway users, set timing goals of how much do you want to read per day, and, of course, check your current streak! Don’t worry; you will get reminders about how much time is left to finish your daily reading session, so you will never lose your score. That’s an excellent idea for the intellectual competition between your friends, family, and colleagues.

Widgets all the way

Yes, that’s correct. Now inspiration is always in your pocket and speaks to you every time you unlock your phone. Our team picks the best quotes and insights for Headway widgets to keep you motivated every second. And what can we say? Our users love this new feature!

Worldwide recognized app

Apple has already recognized Headway in categories like Popular Apps to Try, This Week’s Favorite, Learn More Everyday, Read More, Achieve More, and New Apps We Love in more than 140+ countries. Headway’s biggest markets are the USA, the UK, New Zealand, Canada, and more than 7 million users have already downloaded the app! Not bad for the app that appeared only in 2019, ha?

The outstanding team

Talented and inspired people who share one common goal is the best definition of the Headway team. Our mission is to provide every person on Earth with an easy way to learn and get knowledge from the world’s best books. Being a multicultural international team, we share our experience and expertise with each other to make our product better. Every member of Headway is a brilliant specialist who adds uniqueness, passion, and new ideas to the app. People are the most significant value of Headway as they are the vital driving force that made the app successful.

We want more people to find out about Headway as we believe in what we do. Helping others become better and smarter is our primary goal, and we go towards it, steadily and firmly. 

Download the Headway app now to join our fantastic community and change your life forever!

Let everyone know what you think!
Cool
Entertaining
Boring
Insightful